Imaginary Conversations As a Way To Share Ideas

Well, well, well. Let’s talk about conversations in writing

Mathias Barra
3 min readOct 21, 2019

Me: Hey, you know what? I’ve been considering writing an article just like a conversation.

Second character: What? Why would you do that?

Me: Well, you know how everybody says that when I tell a story or explain something it becomes a long monologue all over the place?

Second character: Oh yeah, I do, man. You always go way too much into details and we totally lose your point.

Me: Yeah, that’s it. The thing is, my articles aren’t that long either. I’ve been controlling the length pretty naturally.

Second character: Ah right, that’s true indeed. But why would an article written as a conversation be interesting?

Me: Well, unless you’re already rather well-known and have a large readership, almost nobody reads articles with long paragraphs.

Second character: So writing as a conversation would make the article more readable?

Me: Exactly. Plus it’s fun!

Second character: Fun? Didn’t you say your goal was to inspire or something like that?

Me: Yes, among others, it is. But if I didn’t keep the experience of writing

--

--

Mathias Barra

French polyglot speaking 6 languages. Writer. Helping you learn languages. Get my new ebook → https://linktr.ee/MathiasBarra